During a somewhat wet walk-about Edinburgh, we happened upon a quaint and interesting museum, dedicated to the lives of three Scottish writers; Robert Burns, Sir Walter Scott, and Robert Louis Stevenson. Located just off of the Royal Mile, and tucked away in a small square known as Lady Stair Close, the museum is within the 1622 house of Sir Walter Gray of Pettendrum, First Earl of Stair, the house later became known as "The Lady Stair House" after his wife. In 1907, the house was deeded over to the Royal burgh of Edinburgh for use as a museum. Many times as we walk around exploring the cities we visit, we find unexpected gems such as this museum. We were thoroughly delighted by this treasure.
Carl and Lorraine Aveni are two retirees planning on traveling through Europe for at least one year.